Road Trip: Rangers vs. Mariners

As some of you know, we went to the Rangers vs. Mariners game on Saturday. The Blonde had never been to an MLB game, and I haven’t been to one since I left Fort Worth 14 years ago.

I used to go to around 20-25 games a year. There was one year I made around 30 games. I only lived about 15 minutes from The Ballpark in Arlington, so it was easy, and at that time, a fairly cheap form of entertainment.

I have been telling the Blonde for years we should go up to Seattle and catch a game, and we just hadn’t ever done it. Finally, this year we put our foot down and just started saving up to go. Being her first game, I wanted to make sure we had excellent seats. Have to start the experience off right, don’t ya know? We sat in Section 115, Row 20, Seats 13 & 14. I took the picture of the Safeco sign above sitting in my seat.

Click to enlarge.

Certainly not home plate, but damned nice seats nonetheless. I had been telling Pauline for years about my experiences at Rangers’ games in Texas, and I wanted this to be one of those kick ass things she would remember for the rest of her life.

So, tickets bought, we started thinking, “Shit, that is a night game. 7:10 p.m. first pitch means game won’t be over ’til 10:30 or 11:00.” I have never, ever, EVER gone to a baseball game and not had at least 1 beer, and I knew this one would be no different. Well, you add those two things together, plus a 4 hour car ride home, and it equals one thing: GET A ROOM.

The Blonde set about getting us a room for cheap. She scoured the hell out of the internet looking for a deal that wouldn’t break the bank. She struck pay dirt! The Executive Hotel Pacific is worth every penny.

We paid $137 for a night. It is a very clean, mostly modern hotel on the inside, despite the fact that it is in a building that was probably built 60 or 70 years ago. I can not say enough about how polite the staff was; they were GREAT! The hotel is, by my count, 14 city blocks from Qwest Field (where the Seachickens play) and Safeco Field; easy walking distance. As MapQuest tells it, 1.3 miles walking distance. As Google Maps Pedometer tells it, the distance is 1.197 miles:


Once the tickets were purchased, and the room reserved, the Blonde finally let herself believe she was REALLY going to a Major League ball game. Let me tell you folks, she was like a kid getting excited about Christmas. It sure made me happy to see her like that.

We located our hotel, got checked in, and had a bit before we wanted to head off to the ballpark, so we had some adult beverages; handily available because we brought our own in an ice chest! YAY for planning ahead!!!

I was hoping the wine she had would calm her down a bit. Shit, no such luck. If anything, it wound her up even more than she already was.

We finally get to Safeco and discovered we walked a little faster than we thought. Truth be told, the Blonde walked fast and I just kept up best I could. Heh! Anyway, we decided since we had about 40 minutes to go before they opened the gates, we would stop in at Jimmy’s on First, a SUPER nice restaurant/bar/hotel right across the street from the ballpark. Let me tell you something else, they have SUPER prices too. I paid $11 for two pints of Bud Light in that joint. Holy shit!!!!

Welllllll, turns out we might have screwed off a little too long, because when we got in line at the home plate gate, this is what we saw:

Me holding the camera above my head and snapping a shot.

Me holding the camera above my head and snapping a shot.

Click to enlarge.

OOOOOPS!!! Turns out it was ‘free t-shirt night’. Show up late? Sorry about your damned luck.

That mess was bad enough and THEN we found out we were in the wrong damned line!!! Turns out the folks in the line on the left are the ‘SPECIAL’ people, who I’m sure have paid ‘SPECIAL’ money to get in first. Luckily an older lady in the line on the right was nice enough to let us saddle up with them, so we didn’t have to go to the end of that zoo.

We finally get in the damned place, and the first thing I thought I was going to have to do was call an ambulance. My wife seen this:

Click to enlarge.

I thought she was going to have a damned heart attack from excitement. She was in baseball heaven.

I must admit, I was impressed myself. Anyone who has ever walked into an MLB ballpark from behind home plate, baseball fan or not, knows what I am talking about; it is a feeling that you just cannot hardly put into words.

Like any new place, the ballpark had to be explored. The Blonde was like a kid in a toy store; she had to see EVERYTHING. I completely understood. So we did, we walked the whole concourse, Pauline snapping pictures as we went.

First pitch actually wound up being at 7:15 rather than the normal 7:10. The Mariners were celebrating the 10th anniversary of their 116 win season. I can understand why, there hasn’t been a whole lot of anything for them to celebrate this year.

I was truly hoping that the Mariners would at least show up and try to win. Well, like the previous two games of the stand, the Rangers clubbed them like baby seals. It was bad. Bad. BAD:ย 

Thursday’s score was 5-0, Friday’s score was 4-0, and we found out when we got home that the Rangers had beaten them again Sunday, 3-1. Clean sweep. I really felt bad for Pauline. You’d like for the first time you go to the park to see your team play that they win. No. Such. Luck.

Know what? I don’t think she cared. She was as happy as a pig in shit. In fact, on the walk back to the hotel, she was already pre-planning our next trip to Safeco. “We like the hotel, so we’ll stay there again. I’d like to sit in a different spot next time; maybe something not so expensive. Blah. Blah. Blah.”ย  LOL!! She was on an adrenalin high. Well, that and all the Mike’s Hard Lemonade and beer that was consumed. I was pretty damned happy myself. With the exception ofย  walking in downtown Seattle at 11:00 p.m. THAT I could have done without; pretty damned creepy.

The bed in the room slept fantastic. I woke up feeling great. Sore from all the walking, but great. The Blonde, on the other hand, was severely wounded. I had no idea why she was hungover. She didn’t ever seem to get drunk the night before. I think it was because she mixed wine, with Mike’s and Bud Light. That shit would probably make me sick too.

We shelved our plans for touring downtown. Turns out Mother Nature had decided to be a bitch anyway….RAIN. We said screw it and came on home. The weather forecast predicts rain until Thursday.

We’ll do the other touristy shit next time. And there WILL be a next time. We had a hell of a lot of fun.

Head on over to Random Thoughts from a Blonde for more pictures of the trip.

10 Responses to “Road Trip: Rangers vs. Mariners”

  1. And by the way, I need to thank my wonderful husband for helping make this possible. It was awesome, thanks baby. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Well, I am glad you had a good time. As for The Blonde being a little tipsy in the morning…she was just still giddy from the excitement.

  3. Geoff Whittier Says:

    why anyone would pay money to go to a Mariners game is beyond me. They are teh suck

  4. cynical old man Says:

    You both needed to get away for a night… Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Comments are closed.

