Allyssa update, 2-8-12

Allyssa came over to the house tonight;Ā  first time since her accident. She was in really good spirits. Her smartass is back full force which tells me she is on her way to making a full recovery.

She runs out of gas pretty quick. When Pauline first brought her home, she had to lay down and get her a little 30 minute cat nap. I expect it will take her awhile to go a whole day without wearing completely out.

We asked her what she wanted for supper tonight. She said Pauline’s chicken enchiladas; her favorite. Well, they are pretty damned spicy and we weren’t sure her stomach was going to be able to handle it. She said, ‘whatever, I’ll be fine, I want chicken enchiladas.” As it turned out, she had no problem eating them at all. She ate one enchilada, and about 1/2 of a fresh salad. Pretty danged good, I thought.

When she first had her accident, they didn’t cut all of her hair off, they just shaved where they needed to cut her open. That turned out to be the whole left side of her head. Her step-dad’s sister cuts hair, and she came over this past Saturday to get things evened up. She did a pretty good job. Personally, I thought the remaining hair on the right side of her head looked very ‘Tibetan monk’, especially when she braided it up. Cool actually. She did need to get it evened up though, or it never would grow out right. I am finally starting to get over this nasty cold of mine, so I am going to see if the gal that cuts my hair can give me a buzz this weekend. Pictures to follow if she can.

It is remarkable to me that barely two weeks ago we almost lost Allyssa, and to see how much she has healed up in such a short period of time is truly one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.

2 Responses to “Allyssa update, 2-8-12”

  1. It won’t be long till Allyssa and I will have the same spiky hairdo šŸ™‚ I think she’s lost weight do you? She’s back on f/b so she is feeling better šŸ˜€

Comments are closed.

