Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving when I was growing up was, to say the least, interesting. A lot of my recollections of the holiday when I was a kid are surrounded with arguments, outright fights, general discontent, or some major medical problem with a family member; DRAMA! It got to the point where I literally dreaded the holiday season. I am so thankful, that as an adult/parent/grandparent, that is not part of the holidays for me anymore. It isn’t a knock on my family, it just was what it was.

Holidays should never be about the bad shit.

Having blathered on about nothing, I’ll say this:

Today I am thankful for two loving parents.
Today I am thankful for my wife.
Today I am thankful for my in-laws, who may or may not actually like me.
Today I am thankful for my children.
Today I am thankful for my grandchildren.
Today I am thankful for my friends.
Today I am thankful for what my country used to be, and can be again.
Today I am thankful for the men and women who protect our country.
Today I am thankful for being on the right side of the grass.

Find a way to make someone else smile, and I guarantee you that you’ll find yourself smiling. Random tip from the Bastard, free of charge.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving folks!

H/T to Yankee for the graphic.

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. I made that statement yesterday. I used to dread the holiday season because I knew it would be horrible. It’s sad that it took the death of the adult I loved most in the world for that to end.

    I’m grateful first and foremost for my kid, grands and greats. And amazed that I’ve lived so long 😀

Comments are closed.

