September 11, 2016

It is incredibly hard for me to believe that 15 years have passed since the towers fell. My Dad used to tell me when I was growing up that, as I got older, time would speed up. I always thought he was full of shit. Now, here I am, just shy of 50, realizing that he might have known what the hell he was talking about.

I will never forget the day. Me and the evil one had split the sheets. I had moved into my own place. I was ironing a shirt, getting ready for a job interview, when the phone rang. It was Talley asking me if I had the TV on. I said no. She replied with, “Mark, you REALLY need to turn the TV on”. At this point, the first plane had already hit, and one of the towers was boiling smoke. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I grabbed a beer and plopped my ass down on the couch and watched 3-4 hours of nothing but news. During that window, the second plane hit. It was SO surreal. I am typically one of those “see it to believe it” kind of guys, but I was seriously having a hard time processing what I was seeing. I left the house for my interview in anything but an ‘interviewable’ state. I need not have worried myself, my prospective employers were just as messed up as I was. This type of thing hadn’t happened before in any of our lifetimes, and it was unnerving to say the least. I got the job, but that isn’t what I remember the day for.

God bless all the souls who perished on that day.

Click to enlarge.

Originally published by Cox and Forkum on September 9, 2004.

 

Comments are closed.

